After talking my seven-year old daughter down from Eclipse (yes, she’s in love with Edward–not my fault!), we finally settled on Disney’s The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Yes its a family film and yes Nicholas Cage was his usual Cagey self (which sometimes works, sometimes doesn’t), but the movie was a great family flick with just the right mix of action and light humor.

I wasn’t sure what to expect plot-wise, since I knew the movie was based on the short clip from Fantasia, but they managed to craft a believable plot that mixed a little bit of science and magic–which is something I harp on quite a bit. In the movie, magic is just a play on physics combined with the talent of an individual graced with the ability to use more of their brain than the average human being. I liked that, and it made the plot really accessible by putting a modern twist on the Merlin tale.

The thing I really enjoyed was the effects. They were really well done and inventive. It made the whole concept come alive. Several times my daughter and I oohed and ahhhed at the effects because they were so well executed. As far as acting goes, it was good considering the fact that it is a family film (and therefore a little cheese is expected). Plus, when you consider how rare it is for a tasteful family movie to hit the theaters, you appreciate it (plus, like I’ve mentioned before, Oscar and I have different tastes in movies).

So, if you are looking for a good family film to take the kids to, I suggest the Sorcerer’s Apprentice and give it four out of five broomsticks.

