As you are aware, my mission is to help people achieve superhero status. There are many reasons why I want people to find the superhero within them and I felt that it was necessary for me to share those with you.

Reason #1: There is too much injustice.

  • Every day people are murdered for blood diamonds, sold into the sex slave trade, abused, neglected, and taken advantage of.
  • There is female genital mutilation and bride burning.
  • In parts of Africa, girls as young as 8 are married off to men three times their age. As soon as they menstruate they are raped by their husbands, then cast aside when childbirth rips apart their bladder.
  • People are starving. In the U.S. alone, over 25 million Americans go hungry every day–14 million of them are children. I know because I used to be one of the many who, despite working a full-time job, couldn’t afford to put food on the table.
  • Many people are homeless–40% of the American homeless are children.
  • Domestic violence continues–again, I have also been a victim.
  • In the U.S. alone, 1 in 4 women will be the victim of sexual assault–most often at the hands of someone they know.

All of this breaks my heart, and I want to right every single last injustice, but I am just one person. How can I have the biggest impact? By empowering others to give voice to those who are wronged, to draw light to these issues, and to inspire people to become involved in the solution (By the way, if you question these facts I can get you information and statistics on all of these, it just would be too many hyperlinks for one little post to share them all here).

Reason #2: I want you to have a big life.

Too many people scrape by, miserable, alone, full of regret. My friend Lark Neville wrote a great post on why so many people don’t go after the life they want. It’s so easy to come up with excuses. It’s even harder to take that first step toward a new life. I want everyone to:

  • Love with their heart wide open
  • Chase their secret passion, no matter how crazy
  • See the world
  • Be recognized for their uniqueness and value
  • See nothing but possibility in this world

To do that, I have to live a big life and go after what I want and showcase others who have done the same. I am not saying a life without challenges–I’m saying achieving a big life in spite of challenges.

Reason#3 I choose not to be a victim

I’ve had a pretty challenging life. I’ve been physically and emotionally abused, lived through poverty, and dealt with the challenges inherent with being a single par

ent. I could let my circumstances rule me, but I decided to change my future, first by getting an education, then by training to become physically stronger. Beating the victim mentality is a constant struggle, but I know I’m not the only one. I want every person facing injustice and hardship to know that they can change their life. They just have to find a reason to change, to grow, and to fight back. My daughter was my reason. She deserves a strong mother, a solid role model, to show her that she can have a rewarding and healthy life and that she is worthy and able to  demand such a life.

We all can demand such a life. I hope one day we all can achieve it.

